Research Students' Peer Groups

alert level faqs

The Research Students’ Peer Groups are a network of student-led groups where AUT postgraduate research students can meet, connect and share ideas.​

Action Research Connections

Join this multi-discipline community that shares action research projects (and related approaches) and ideas for ongoing learning, discussion, mentorship and potential joint projects.

Contact us

Katharine Hoskyn katharine.hoskyn@aut.ac.nz

Art and Design PG Club

​Join with other art and design postgraduate students for conversation and the sharing of ideas.

Contact us

Laura Marsh get@lauramarsh.nz

Richard Orjis orjis@richardorjis.com

AUT NZ Scholars and ASEAN Students' Group

​Meet students who are receiving a New Zealand Scholarship or have come to New Zealand from a South East Asian country.

Contact us

Aswin Alex Seth aswinseth@gmail.com

Chinese Research Students' Group

​Join a new research group for master's and PhD students who speak either Mandarin or Cantonese.

Contact us

Zoe Au hiuchingzoee​​​e@gmail.com (or wechat hiuchingzoeau)

Distance Students' Group​

Join other distance students in this online group to swap tips and share your research journey with some new friends. From time to time we get together in the real world over a real coffee, come and join us.

Contact us

Helen Ough Dealy dmg3827@autuni.ac.nz

Join our Facebook group

MH206 Whānau

MH206 Whānau is a group of PhD and Doctor of Health Science students who study in the same room and support each other through their doctoral journeys. Based at the AUT South Campus, they're from different faculties as well as of various ethnic backgrounds.

Contact us

Christianah Adesina oyinadesina@yahoo.com

Post-qualitative Inquiry Group

​Are you interested in exploring post-qualitative research and material ontologies? Contact us to get involved.

Contact us

Janita Craw janita.craw@aut.ac.nz

Kate Waterworth kate.waterworth@aut.ac.nz

Qualitative Methodology Research Peer Support Group

​All master's and doctoral students working with qualitative methods are invited to share ideas and identify avenues for further learning. This group provides a forum where you can practise your research topic (PGR2 or PGR9) or just be there to listen, learn and provide support to other students’ projects.

Contact us

Ray Jauny rjauny@hotmail.com

​Research Writing Group

​This supportive and social group meets for coffee at #newsfeed. On the first Thursday of each month, we meet for an education and discussion session, and on the third Thursday of each month we write and proofread each other’s writing.

Contact us

Tanya Ewertowska wpn2956@autuni.ac.nz

Join our Facebook group

Researchers' Networking Club

​Expand your network, identify potential collaborators and talk about your research.

Contact us

Arif Syed smarif@aut.ac.nz

SPRINZ Journal Club

​Postgraduate students from SPRINZ are welcome to join our discussions as we read and assess journal articles on sport and performance research.

Contact us

Josh McGeown josh.mcgeown@aut.ac.nz

Casey Watkins cwatkins025@gmail.com

​Tourism and Hospitality Doctoral Tea Party

The Doctoral Tea Party is the peer mentoring group of postgraduate students at the School of Hospitality and Tourism. Postgraduate students working on the areas of, and related to, tourism, hospitality, events, and gastronomy are welcome to join us to catch-up on #PhDlife over coffee, tea and cookies.

Richard Aquino raquino@aut.ac.nz

Contact us

Graduate Research School
+64 9 921 9907
grs@aut.ac.nz
City Campus: Level 5, WU Building

Start your own group

Not interested in these groups? To start one of your own, email us:

anaise.irvine@aut.ac.nz

Website search