Research Students' Peer Groups

The Research Students’ Peer Groups are a network of student-led groups where AUT postgraduate research students can meet, connect and share ideas.​

Action Research Connections

Join this multi-discipline community that shares action research projects (and related approaches) and ideas for ongoing learning, discussion, mentorship and potential joint projects.

Contact us

Katharine Hoskyn katharine.hoskyn@aut.ac.nz

Art and Design PhD Research Group

A peer support group for current Art and Design doctoral students.

Contact us

Emelia French efrench@aut.ac.nz

Shelley Simpson shelley.simpson@aut.ac.nz

Climate Change Researchers' Group​

The purpose of the climate change researchers’ group is to promote a supportive environment for climate change postgraduate students to meet on a regular basis. During meetings we will talk about our research and share how our research journey is going. Both master's and PhD students are welcome to join.

Contact us

Nina Ives nina.ives@aut.ac.nz

Distance Students' Group​

Join other distance students in this online group to swap tips and share your research journey with some new friends. From time to time we get together in the real world over a real coffee, come and join us.

Contact us

Currently seeking a leader: please contact anaise.irvine@aut.ac.nz

Join our Facebook group

MH206 Whānau

MH206 Whānau is a group of PhD and Doctor of Health Science students who study in the same room and support each other through their doctoral journeys. Based at the AUT South Campus, they're from different faculties as well as of various ethnic backgrounds.

Contact us

Katharine Hoskyn katharine.hoskyn@aut.ac.nz

Qualitative and Mixed Method Peer Support Group

Graduate students learn from each other from a variety of qualitative and mixed methods. We encourage peer guidance and support models to appraise research topics from all AUT schools. You can practice conference presentations, PGR2/9, mock oral exam, share your knowledge and experience and bring any research-based queries to the group.

Contact us

Jessica Worchel jworchel@gmail.com

Rehabilitation PhD Students' Group​

We welcome PhD students from the Rehabilitation Innovation Centre (RIC) and Health and Rehabilitation Research Institute (HRRI), as well as those working in related disciplines. We meet fortnightly on the Akoranga campus.

Contact us

Ruth McLaren ruth.mclaren@aut.ac.nz

​Research Writing Group

This highly supportive and social group meets twice monthly: once on Zoom, and once for coffee in person. Our group offers a place to talk about where you are at in your writing and research, and share advice and resources.

Contact us

Tanya Ewertowska wpn2956@autuni.ac.nz

Join our Facebook group

SPRINZ Journal Club

​Postgraduate students from SPRINZ are welcome to join our discussions as we read and assess journal articles on sport and performance research.

Contact us

Anaise Irvine anaise.irvine@aut.ac.nz

​Tourism and Hospitality Doctoral Tea Party

A group for tourism & hospitality doctoral students to socialise, share their research journeys (both ups and downs), and learn from expert guest speakers

Roxane de Waegh dw.roxy@gmail.com

Contact us

Graduate Research School
Phone: +64 9 921 9907
Email: grs@aut.ac.nz
City Campus: Level 5, WU Building

Start your own group

Not interested in these groups? To start one of your own, email us:

anaise.irvine@aut.ac.nz

Website search